brokenBread……

life as it is seen from my heart and soul

quietness

3 Comments

The pressure canner weight is jiggling away, the fan is blowing and it is supposed to be hot today with high humidity. There are 7 more quarts of veggie soup in the canner which makes 14 quarts. Yesterday was super busy with canning the tomatoes I bought from Honey Haven Farm. Gorgeous huge meaty tomatoes that are now in soup, 24 pints of salsa, 24 pints of pasta sauce, 10 half-pints of tomato paste and today I will make tomato puree. So this winter we will eat well on spaghetti, pizza sauce, soups, chili, pasta fagouli, and what ever else comes to mind. This adds to the peach jam, frozen peaches, canned beans, beef, and chicken and other things in my pantry.
The sad part of this is we have not had any rain in 5 weeks. The grass in the yard is dying, the green beans are drying up, my flowers are looking pitiful, and the man at Honey Haven said if we don’t get rain there won’t be too much more corn to eat. The yard is hard and cracked.
The yellow finches have been eating like crazy from the sunflower feeder these past two weeks as well. Does this mean they are leaving soon? The squirrels are trying to bury their nuts in my flower pots, and the chipmunk is gathering as much as it can as well. I wonder what they know that I do not about the coming winter?
This week begins the ‘back to a regular schedule’ for my life. I like it and dread it. But it is in the constant that I know I am not in charge. I count on the changing of the seasons, the work week, the day to day, the sun the stars the moon, I count on God being faithful as I am not. Trusting your week to Jesus, blessings.

Author: melinda

a follower of Christ & a Daughter of the Great High King of Heaven disguised as a wife, a mum, a nurse, a baker, a gardener, a teacher, an artist and many things unknown by others.

3 thoughts on “quietness

  1. Love you and praying for you!

  2. I’ve missed you 💜 Yay, I found you 🌷

    • Oh Laurie!! I took a 30 day break from the demon Facebook and have only missed several people ~ you and Rosalinda… and family. and Gayle in Arizona. But you really need to post your pics to Instagram!!! and let me be your friend!!!! so glad you found me… hope the school year is going well, love you bunches, you are amazing, Melinda

Leave a Reply

