brokenBread……

life as it is seen from my heart and soul

how does one write about this?

1 Comment

I spent the day with a person from our community that has just been diagnosed with a stage IV glioblastoma. She is not allowed to be alone during the day. She will begin chemotherapy in several weeks.
because I was there this  morning I was privy to a conversation between her and one of her daughters.  I sat there crocheting, trying to not listen to the intimate conversation between a woman facing a death and her daughter trying to be strong.  there was discussion about what the daughter wanted her mother to do to preserve her thoughts for the children, what did the mother really want to do with the children (all grown) before getting sicker.
and when I glanced up and looked at the daughter looking at her mother with the expression that she didn’t want to leave knowing this might be the last good day i felt like i invaded that moment.  the daughter’s daily responsibilities pulling at her brain and her mother’s condition pulling at her heart.
all I can say is i want to be that strong as the mom.  as a former hospice nurse i would witness these moments but the client was actively dying… maybe weeks to live. this woman has just been diagnosed and is facing the facts knowing Jesus is at the other end of the journey and is worried about her family, her close friends, her husband.

Lord, help me if that moment comes before me to fully rely on You alone and help those around me to see the good of Your plan.

Author: melinda

a follower of Christ & a Daughter of the Great High King of Heaven disguised as a wife, a mum, a nurse, a baker, a gardener, a teacher, an artist and many things unknown by others.

One thought on “how does one write about this?

  1. Crying…I happen to be listening to a song at the moment saying” we remember the cost. we’re resting in the shadow of the cross.” I guess that says it all. Love you.

Leave a Reply

