brokenBread……

life as it is seen from my heart and soul

Sadness of life

Leave a comment

Here in our small town a young mother did not return from vacation in the Carolinas.  Her boyfriend came back with her children, dropped them off, and then left.  2 children with no mother and I wonder what did they hear or witness that will scar them the rest of their lives?  Why did this mother take the trip that she had earlier wondered about taking?  What is it that makes a person turn inside so their heart becomes dark?  How many tears does our Lord shed because of the sin on the earth.

I have been thinking about this as I have been cleaning a garden bed out that has been overrun with english ivy.  Ivy is horrible if you don’t want it.  It grows slowly and steadily, planting roots as it grows, sending out sucker plants in every direction and eventually taking over trees, fences, and anything in its path.  Much like sin.  Sin is slow, steadily growing, and planting roots everywhere while sending out suckers to do the same eventually taking over the person it resides in.  The battle we are in is not of flesh and blood, but a battle of the heart and soul.  Why can we not learn this lesson?  More than 2000 years have passed and we still do not know this.
As I have been cleaning out the bed of ivy and attempting to kill it, I have thought about ants.  Hardworking, dedicated, diligent.  I am a small ant in the population of humans.  There is but one queen in the kingdom of ants.  I am not a queen.  I am a worker ant.  I am hopeful that in the Kingdom I am doing my job as Christ would have me, to His glory, and without shame.  I like being small, working hard, and grateful more than anything to be saved by mercy and grace.  I wonder if ants know what they inspire in people?  blessings.

Author: melinda

a follower of Christ & a Daughter of the Great High King of Heaven disguised as a wife, a mum, a nurse, a baker, a gardener, a teacher, an artist and many things unknown by others.

Leave a Reply

