melinda's Blog

life as it is seen from my heart and soul

Indianapolis

Leave a comment

I was in Indianapolis on Friday night. Me and all those crazy basketball players that are like 7 feet tall. I wanted to ask them – How is the weather up there? But I didn’t. And there were the cheerleaders there for a competition as well. But I was there for a different group, a smaller group. The Leukemia Lymphoma Society had a meeting and my friend asked me to go with her. I went to be the note taker, she is the patient.
All I can say it was a fabulous evening. They paid for parking for the car, had a huge buffet, and then had a wonderful education session. BUT, the amazing part of the evening was the break out session where each diagnosis was sent to a room of their own and a doctor was in the room. Because of my friend’s diagnosis, there were only 6 of us in the room. 3 patients, 3 advocates. And for 90 minutes the amazing doctor from the Mayo Clinic asked each patient to tell their story, then asked specific questions and then ~ he encouraged, he empowered, he consoled. He did not say anything negative about what their doctors had or hadn’t done, but he made it very clear what each person was supposed to do – what questions to ask, what blood work to get, what meds to continue or wean off of, he covered it all.
I have never seen a doctor treat his patients like this. He is the rare exception, the one that understands he is not ‘God’, that knows his patients are more important than his ego, and to be truthful with them. What a truly gifted man. He was an answer to my friend… he calmed her fears, he encouraged her in the decisions she has already made and he helped her to see that going forward is not a difficult thing.
and I got to witness it in the room, a blessing to me I cannot describe.

Author: melinda

a follower of Christ & a Daughter of the Great High King of Heaven disguised as a wife, a mum, a nurse, a baker, a gardener, a teacher, an artist and many things unknown by others.

Leave a Reply

