melinda's Blog

life as it is seen from my heart and soul

To be undone

Leave a comment

First week back at the job of teaching.  But this week has been horrific in the classroom.  How does one teach and instruct students that have never been held accountable for their actions?  For students that have been enabled by lying and thieving in word and deed?  This past week showed me the work of the evil one in my classroom – to take students that I have helped, counseled with, prayed for, expected more of than they thought possible within themselves – and turned them into someone I do not know.  That they would lie about what has been said in front of others, lie about how they are treated, that they do not admit their choices and accept the consequences of their actions.  It has been amazing to see it all unfold.  How parents come the ‘rescue’ of their child that is being treated ‘unfairly’.   They do not see how their child behaves, hear what they say under their breathe loud enough for all to hear, or how they treat other peers and students.  Someone said they are the meanest of mean girls, the bullies in make up and high  heels.  How true.
I feel sorry for the students and the parents.  Neither will admit the mistakes they have made in giving them everything they want, allowing the student to rule the home, and enabling them to do wrong.  I also feel for the other students in the class that have been witness to the actions of their peers.  To see the self centeredness, to hear the hate spewing from their mouths.  It has been a lesson for all of us within the four walls.
So I continue to work ‘at it’.  To choose to see the good within the four walls, but I wonder what He is doing sometimes.  What am I to learn from this?  Where did I go wrong?  Did I care too much, give too much, try to hold them responsible too much?  Should I become one of the horrible teachers we all see that arrive at 8 and leave at 3, who do not assist their students with anything despite that they are the teacher?  That is not the answer, but if every year is like this in the 2nd semester, I will not stay long.  I will continue to plug away at this life, longing for what lies ahead – the High Country as Lewis says.

Author: melinda

a follower of Christ & a Daughter of the Great High King of Heaven disguised as a wife, a mum, a nurse, a baker, a gardener, a teacher, an artist and many things unknown by others.

Leave a Reply

